Free Verse vol. 8

My mind doesn’t know
Who I want to be
My heart just wants
To like what I see
My reflection is worst than
All my nightmares combined
Many times I look at myself
And just ask
Who do you want to be
Waiting for an answer as
My reflection sits in cold silence
A tear runs down my face
Carving a scar down my soul
Taking away any good feelings
As it gains more mass
The tear gets so heavy that I
Put my head down in shame
What am I
What will I become
Look up at my reflection
Still no answer
Why do I still care
About who I am
It’s not like I will enjoy
What this world has to offer
Entered head first into life
Now drowning in my sorrow
Trying to learn how
To swim through this universe
Something inside tells me
Just keep swimming
You will know who you are
If you make it to the shore

Leave a Reply

